Rider Strong in SF


I got the chance to see a show last night called “The Thrilling Adventure Hour” and Rider Strong was a part of it! The show is presented in an old-time radio show where people are voicing different characters and reading off of a script. It reminds me of when you see voice actors do a recording for a cartoon, except in this case, there is no cartoon attached to the program. I confess, I only went to see Rider Strong. The rest were just a bonus. Other people who were also a part of the program included Paget Brewster from Criminal Minds, Keegan-Michael Key from Key & Peele, and Tom Hanks’ son, Colin Hanks.

I have to say, I’ve never seen anything like it. It was very entertaining and I loved the nonverbal interactions between the actors when there weren’t any lines to be said. I could really see the difference in what makes an actor good or bad. It’s the choices they make on how they interpret the script. I absolutely enjoyed it. My only gripe about it was that there wasn’t enough Rider in it. He came out a couple of times and I was hoping he would come out again after that but he never did until curtain call.

I wasn’t disappointed in the show though, had a great time. I just wished he had been able to participate more. There were 2 shows, one at 7 PM & one at 9:30 PM. I went to the one at 7 PM and made dinner plans with some friends after that. I had thought about going back after dinner to see if I could catch Rider leaving but I thought, “What for?” I’ve already met him twice and taken pictures with him twice. The 2nd time I saw him, I didn’t even ask to take photos, just hugged him and had him autograph a short story he wrote for a college literary book. Plus, I didn’t want him to think of me as a stalker. That is the last thing I would want. There were already those aggressive autograph collectors who get signatures on pictures & sell them online. Most of them aren’t even really fans.

Anyway, here is a photo that my friend took at curtain call. It’s blurry but you can tell which one Rider is, I’m sure. Hint: scruff

ThrillingAdventureHour

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

