Creative Playground Temporarily Closed


I wrote a short stage play 3 years ago and it went onstage 2 years ago. Now, I’m trying to adapt it to turn it into a short film. I thought this would be easy but it isn’t. I’ve been working on this for the greater part of the year and am not even close to being done. My creative mind often takes vacations & doesn’t leave me a return date. So I’m left with my practical mind to clean up the mess. I wonder if other writers go through these types of brain farts. In the meantime, here’s an excerpt:

ACT TWO

INT. MERENGUE CLASS DOORWAY

Justin is practicing his standup comedy jokes on no one.

MELIA
Omigosh, omigosh, omigosh. There he is. AAGGHH!! I’m going to throw up.

DENINE
Let’s go say hi then.

MELIA
What??! Okay. Okay. How’s my hair? Anything in my teeth? Look.

DENINE
You’re GOOD! Come on.

MELIA
Wait, what should I say?

DENINE
Play hard to get, ignore him. Act like you have a life, like you’re too busy for him. Guys like girls who present a challenge.

MELIA
A challenge. Got it.

INT. MERENGUE CLASS

Denine and Melia walk over to Justin.

Leave a Reply

