Went to the Casting Call After All…


Went to the casting call today for Contagion. Wasn’t going to go since I was so exhausted this morning but I knew I would regret it if I didn’t. It was…err…fun. Well, mostly, I stood in a SUPER LONG line for 3 hours in the drizzle/partial sunny rain, reading The Screenwriter’s Bible by David Trottier. At the least, it was an experience that everyone should try at least once in their lifetime.

My friend took my photo about 15 times before we got a shot good enough to print out and forfeit. They gave us a card to complete and I had to complete a section that said “Special Skills (juggling, fire eater, play a musical instrument…)”. I couldn’t think of anything!! So all I wrote in that was “can play a filipino instrument called the kulintang, hula hoop.” PUWAAHHHAHAHAHA!!! Another question I couldn’t answer were my measurements. I mean, I’m just not one of those people who goes around knowing my measurements all day long and has special skills. I’m just not!

We were directed into a room where this guy (I guess the casting associate?) told us they were basically collecting our information and if we get called, we’ll get paid $64/non-union and $139/union per day and that they mostly shoot in the daytime. Crap, well that leaves me out for the weekdays right there! I’m not going to forego working to make $64 a day when I can make more than that, even if it means I might get to “rub elbows with Matt Damon.” Yes, some article actually wrote that to entice us common folk to go down there. The casting associate also said that if we can’t do it the day they ask us for, they won’t completely write us off, they’ll just call for another scene if they need us.

All in all, it was a good experience so far. If I get called, then I get called. If not, at least I tried. It certainly did make me think about going to more auditions, real ones I mean. I guess I’ll know in the next couple weeks what happened. Wish me luck!

Photo I submitted:

The line from yesterday at Ft. Mason:

Sign:

Leave a Reply

