B-day Marathon


For my birthday this year, I wanted to do two things: see Michael Ian Black perform live, and have a Boy Meets World marathon with my BFFs. I did get to see Michael Ian Black perform a Viva Variety reunion at SF SKetchfest on 1/29/11 and it was fabulous. I also got to see Kerri Kenney, Ben Garant, and Thomas Lennon in person, what an absolute dream. I had such a great time!

Since we had President’s Day, I decided to do the Boy Meets World marathon this weekend and my BFF was completely down for it even though I was sick. We didn’t start it until late Sunday evening and began with Season 4. I didn’t know if we would make it to Season 7 but we tried our best. In the end, we only got through Season 4 & just 2 episodes short of Season 5. I laughed, I cried, I gasped, I screamed-well, I didn’t REALLY scream. Eric Matthews screamed but I’m just going through the motions with him. :0)

To be honest, I don’t know why I ever stopped watching the show. I guess it was because I was growing up at the time along with Cory Matthews and Shawn Hunter and while I did indeed love Will Friedle with all my heart, I just did not want to stay home Friday nights watching television. Subsequently, I missed so many episodes that I now realize I wish I didn’t. So many valuable lessons, heartbreaks, good times, good television-no, it was GREAT television. Today, I don’t even watch TV anymore because all I see are drunk people causing fights, catty women throwing things at each other, boyfriends & girlfriends getting caught cheating, ridiculous competitions, etc. Boy Meets World didn’t need all the stupid fights, drama, and competitions to get kids to watch their show. Kids watched it on their own and they learned oh so much. The show dealt with so many issues that could prepare a kid for an adult life and it was so beautiful watching Cory Matthews, Shawn Hunter and Topanga Lawrence grow up before our eyes on TV. The best feeling was when Cory & Topanga got back together, when Eric stood up for Cory, when Shawn realized he wanted to be with Angela, and when Eric got accepted to Pennbrook.

It was a great weekend. It was like I was having my own version of a slumber party with Will Friedle. Sigh…a girl can dream, can’t she? Anyway, here are some of my favorite screencaps.

Cory losing a bet to Shawn

Eric looking smart in front of a laptop

Shawn & Cory bromance

Shawn looking hot as a woman for the sake of good journalism

Eric and his pantene hair

And lastly, my favorite: Angry Eric, sooooo hot.

Happy Birthday to me!

3 Comments »

  1. […] a note on Childhood, I drew that one during my Boy Meets World marathon. That should explain why Ron Stoppable & Terry McGinnis are there. […]

  2. […] BFF and I continued my birthday Boy Meets World marathon over the weekend. We went through the last 3 episodes of Season 5, pummeled through Season 6 and […]

  3. […] seeing their faces on my TV, especially with Boy Meets World. Considering I had a Boy Meets World marathon(twice), for my birthday this year, it makes it even more special to see them in person. My heart is […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

