Good Food, Good Times


A drive for 2.5 hours in the pouring rain to get to a 1.5 hour dinner at a French restaurant has got to be worth it to make the trip. La Gare was cozy, the service was friendly, and the food was delicious. Although I went to get the $29 prix-fixe menu that was available for Sonoma County Restaurant week, I actually ended up ordering from their regular menu and have no regrets.

I got the Beef Wellington! I’ve always wanted to try this dish ever since I first heard Julia Child mouth these words and it made me curious. I don’t know, I have this weird fascination with wanting to eat foods I see on TV shows/movies. Not really on cooking shows but actual sitcoms or movies on TV or theaters. Because of this fascination, I’ve tried countless items including Peanut Butter with Marshmallow sandwiches (Who’s the Boss?), Bananas in Milk (Sesame Street), Boeuf Bourguignon (Julie & Julia), and Braciole (Everybody Loves Raymond).

I have a love/hate relationship with food. However, I love it more than I hate it, which is why I had a blast last night even though A) the torrential rain I drove through tried to kill me, B) the food is everything that is against my diet, and C) I was wearing heels that were bound to cause a fall in the soaking wet environment I was wallowing in. No mother nature bitch fit was going to stop me from having a good meal. There is just something about food that brings people together at any gathering. It can act as a matchmaker, an educational tool, a definition of oneself, a form of entertainment, or even a form of torture depending on how you look at it.

One equation I’ve always gone by: Good food + good company = a great time. Here are some pics of our meals:

Pea soup – perfect size, won’t fill you up

Butter Lettuce Salad – my favorite lettuce of all time, like velvet on your tongue

Beef Wellington – with pate & ham, carrots, green beans, & country potatoes

Fettuccine Alfredo – made with the most pungent of french cheeses. The French are famous for cheese, you know. ;0)

Coq Au Vin – Chicken in red wine with mushrooms, rice & veggies. Very tender meat.

Chocolate Caramel Dome – This was delicious. Chocolate sponge cake with caramel & chocolate mousse, creme brulee, coated in chocolate ganache, sitting in a pool of raspberry sauce & creme anglaise. Oooh, did you get goosebumps?

Leave a Reply

