A Few of My Favorite Things


I’ll be leaving in a few days and have so much stuff to do before I leave. Finish my final assignment for my drawing class, finish my script pages for screenwriting classes, pack my luggage, figure out what I need to pack, arrange my ride, etc. So this will be my last post before I leave.

I’ve always loved that song from “Sound of Music” where Julie Andrews sings about all her favorite things. Well you know what, Julie? We all have favorite things, and here are a few of mine.

Food – Just a minimal list of my favorite foods Snickerdoodles, Burmese cuisine, dim sum , sushi, thai iced tea, Mitchell’s Ice Cream

Laughter
Liam Kyle Sullivan makes hilarious videos, I love his gender-mangling style!

David Wain used to be a part of the comedy troupe, The State, which aired on MTV in the 90’s. Great writer!

Music
Adele has a beautiful haunting voice, I love it. I just wish she didn’t smoke…but maybe that’s what gives her that raspy voice. I’m debating over this.

I first heard this song blaring over the speakers in an H&M store in SoHo of NY. I fell in love with her voice.

100 Monkeys never have the same setlist, I love it. And they always do an improv song on the spot, allowing fans to make up a title. And each member of the band can play multiple instruments so they do a switcheroo between songs. Impressive.

New Kids On The Block is the band I listened to as a young teenager. Donnie Wahlberg always taught us to do good, don’t smoke, don’t do drugs, stay in school, etc. I grew up well because of him.

The Harm’s 1st album was produced by a friend of mine. He introduced me to this song and I fell in love with its haunting melody.

Film shorts
I love this short film. It’s funny, clever and well written. Jason Marsden delivers, always.

I saw this film at the Asian American Film Festival a few years ago. I never laughed so hard because it brought fan world to the extreme. Hilarious! Alas, this is only the trailer. You’ll have to find its schedule to view it in theaters.

Miscellaneous
Bindlestiff Studio, My Life As Liz‘s Bizarre Love Triangle (I’m Team Bryson), bike riding in Venice Beach, playing kulintang, writing scripts, singing alone in the car, watching my friends onstage & onscreen, Royal Pains, white chocolate mocha, popping bubble wrap, learning new things, blogging, hugging people, road trips, Hawaii, film festivals, visiting museums, traveling, trying new restaurants, and sleeping.

Now turn that into a song, Ms. Andrews!

Leave a Reply

