Girls Weekend Getaway


Had a great Memorial Day weekend!! Unfortunately, I threw out my back and wasn’t able to really sit up and type until now. I thought I’d just post a brief summary of my short vacation. My friend is getting married and she wanted a girls’ weekend getaway so we decided to go to Monterey, CA. We rented a vacation home out in Prunedale instead of getting a hotel room as there were 6 of us and it was a better option for us to stay in one place rather than 2 separate rooms. The place was out in Prunedale, CA and I highly recommend getting a vacation rental if you have the money to do so. So much more private and convenient. We had a house all to ourselves that was fully equipped. There was a fully stocked kitchen, 3 bedrooms,2 bathrooms, a living room with Direct TV, a dining room, a pool table, musical instruments (not that too many of us play), a hot tub, a dart board, a fireplace, a laundry room, and a basketball hoop. I loved every moment of it. I almost feel like I’m putting an ad to sell a house! haha!

We left Friday night and arrived at the place and went right to sleep. We were so exhausted from the ride. Saturday, we took a day trip down to San Simeon to go to Hearst Castle. We opted for Tour 3, which was the North side of the castle. I chose that tour because some of us had been to the castle already and some had not. Since none of us had done this particular tour, I figured it was best to choose something new. That was when we found out that this particular tour was coming to an end in June due to budget cuts. How sad for this to happen as this tour was absolutely beautiful. The rooms were gorgeous, even the bathrooms and stairwells were breathtakingly handsome. You can’t take photos with flash in there and I accidentally took a couple. I think the docent got upset with me at one point but was too much of a professional to yell at me. :0P After Hearst castle, we trekked back home to cook dinner for ourselves. Upon request, we made a salmon salad with a light citrus vinaigrette, and we also had a pesto linguini as our main course. And we had ice cream with pound cake for dessert. Ice cream is one of my favorites. I don’t know why I decided to eat whatever I wanted. I guess I really thought that since I lost weight on vacation eating whatever I pleased last time, that I would do the same this time. I can be quite illogical at times.

On Sunday, we were down to Carmel to have brunch at this place I found on Yelp called “Katy’s Place.” There was a 30 minute wait so I walked around and ended up buying a bra bag for when you need to wash your bra and keep it from getting damaged by the washing machine. I also ended seeing someone’s boob as she was putting on a wedding dress in the dressing room. I didn’t do it on purpose though. She just had a gap in the curtain and I was turning my head. I didn’t say anything so as to not make the situation awkward…I’m usually caught in awkward situations. At Katy’s, I ended sitting behind Nelson. I wasn’t sure it was them so I took to social media to try and find out. When we left, one of them had to get up and move so that I could get out and he was wearing a Nelson shirt. That’s when I was 100% sure it was them. I got the “Yes you can” vibe from him so I asked for a photo with them. I can’t tell them apart but I believe I was talking to Gunnar. He said, “How about a manwich?” and they stood on both sides of me while my friend snapped a photo. Apparently, they were on tour and had a show on Friday in Carmel, I later discovered.

Then we were off to Monterey’s Cannery Row and hung out over there. We rode surreys to kill time. A surrey is a type of bicycle cart that seats up to 6 people and 2 small kids. However, only 4 people can pedal. I felt like the Flintstone’s, riding around with our feet pedaling. It was hilarious because we were learning how to maneuver the vehicle and how to get everyone in sync at the same time. Pedaling for 6 people is difficult!!!! My thighs were burning after we finished. 3 of us went to get massages afterwards and 3 of us went biking riding. I chose to go bike riding as I don’t like people touching me. I now think I should have gotten the massage as that is probably how I threw my back out. Overexertion. I’m not exactly young anymore! After bike riding, we had dinner at Old Fisherman’s Grotto . I ordered a delicious Parmesan crusted Sea Bass that came with couscous and some vegetables. Then we headed to the movies to see Bridesmaids. This was my 2nd time seeing the movie and I loved it. There were storylines I wish they could have completed but it was still worth the $10 to see it.

The next morning was when we were scheduled to leave. While bending down to pick up a backpack, I felt my lower back suddenly drop and I became immobile. It was so painful and I was afraid I was becoming paralyzed. I don’t know what happened except that it must have been from all the pedaling I did the day before. All I can say is take care of your body, it’s the only one you’ll ever have. Even as I am typing right now, I am in pain and still out of commission. Anyway, and that was my “brief” summary of my weekend. Oh, and on my way home, I fell asleep and woke up just in time to catch a blue minivan on the freeway with the license plate “NK♥TB”. If I wasn’t in pain, I would’ve made my friend switch lanes so I can wave hello.

Here are some photos of my weekend:

Leave a Reply

