Scripts & Jewels


I’ve never written a script for a promotional video before. However, tonight, I can say that I have. Not really sure I knew what I was doing but I dove right in because it was an emergency and we needed the script right away. Hopefully, I wrote it right. I don’t care if they want to tweak it. I fulfilled my assignment and put forth my best effort. I just wish I had learned how to write a shooting script instead of only a spec script. I guess I’ll leave it up to the director to figure it out. The thing is, I have this vision in my head of what the video could look like, but translating the visions into words and shots is much more difficult than I ever thought it would be. Even communicating my vision through voice is much easier than putting it into words. I like the challenge though, keeps me on my toes.

Speaking of challenges, I have been out of commission for a week now due to lower back pain. I finally saw my doctor yesterday and she gave me plenty of drugs to keep me comfortable, which is why I am able to write today. She said it’s probably a pinched nerve. It was so annoying to use my computer sideways so typing was purposely neglected. Now I can finally get back to my regularly scheduled programming. One thing I learned from this experience is to never take your health for granted. Sometimes, I feel invincible but deep down, I know I’m not. We, as humans, are all fragile, not matter how much strength we possess. I could strengthen my core, I could work out until I can carry a horse, I could have legs & buttocks as hard as a rock but all could be gone if I get in a car accident. Our bodies only have one life. It’s not easy to bounce back from trauma. It’s just best to take care of it while we can.

On a lighter note, I’ve discovered an interest in jewelry making. I had a vision of a piece of jewelry and haven’t found anyone who has made it. So, I thought, “Why don’t I make it myself?” This was one thing I did with my time away from work. Wouldn’t it be great to be a writer and also sell jewelry on the side, travelling to different places to different jewelry fairs, conventions, trade shows? Maybe it doesn’t sound that strange but keep in mind that I’m a girl who has never ever been into decorating herself. So jewelry has always been the last on my list when it comes to dressing up. Most times, I forget about jewelry and leave the house without it so I keep emergency jewelry in my bag just for that reason. I am going to take a class, borrow some books from the library, and see what I can come up with. I’ve seen a lot of fugly jewelry out there and if they can make money, so can I. My taste dances along the lines of romance, rock n roll, and sparkle. Once I master my craft, I think I’ll make a channel on Etsy. I tried making a simple pair of earrings yesterdays and it was fun to make. I actually wore them and realized they look like earrings I’ve seen being sold for around $5 – $8 a pair. They’re not perfect but hey, they’re my first pair. Yeah, I think I could do this. I wonder what I should name my new business.

Ruby Hearts & Gunmetal

Snitch in Love

Leave a Reply

