Dave Foley


Real quick.

Going to see Dave Foley tonight at Cobb’s Comedy Club as part of SF Sketchfest. Loved him since 1992 & met him in 2002. I can’t fuckin’ wait!!!! To sum it up, he is a comedian who got his big break doing Kids in the Hall(KITH). They started out in a black box theatre called Rivoli in Canada, I believe, and somehow got offered to do a sketch TV show based on their comedy. He went on to do another show called “Newsradio” with Andy Dick, Maura Tierney and the late Phil Hartman.

I remember back in high school, I used to set my alarm for 3:00 AM. I would wake up, run downstairs, turn on the TV to channel 5 and record Kids in the Hall. Odd time for it to come on but I was a ride-or-die chick and I HAD to watch it! Their comedy truly was the catapult that inspired me to write. I ended up submitting pieces to my high school’s poetry magazine and I even got something accepted in it! I thought the pieces inspired by KITH was poetry but I later learned that what I was actually writing were monologues. I wish I still had those monologues today. I could get re-inspired by my former self. I’m sure I have them somewhere but I’ll bet you anything that they are chillin’ within 3.5″ floppy disk heaven in WordPerfect form with a password protected gate. Unless I can find a computer out there than can pull these out for me, they are laid to rest.

In 2002, I finally got the chance to see Kids in the Hall perform live!! They came to SF on a tour and I got a backstage pass to meet them!! Believe me, that was a dream come true and that week, I also met my childhood fantasy boyfriend Joe McIntyre and another favorite comedian, John Leguizamo!! What a week that was! Here is my picture with Dave, taken 5/19/02. Ignore my fugly self.

I can’t wait for tonight. Alone or alongside Bruce McCulloch, Mark McKinney, Scott Thompson & Kevin McDonald, Dave Foley is hilarious and I appreciate & am inspired by his sense of humor. If it wasn’t for KITH, I would not have the dark & sarcastic sense of humor that I have today. Thank you so much. In the meantime, I’d like to share some of my favorite Kids in the Hall sketches.

Rollerblading

Cheesecake

Musical Duo

Melanie & her Date

Grocery Store

Ok, maybe that was not that quick. Sorry, I got excited reminiscing about the Kids in the Hall! Love them!

Leave a Reply

