Dream Guy-It Was Just A Dream


(transcribed from an old diary I found, circa 1997-20 years old)

My Dream Guy

1. Honest
2. Sincere
3. Romantic
4. Someone who calls when he says he will
5. Someone who writes me letters just to say hello
6. Someone who calls just to tell me he’s thinking about me
7. Someone who remembers important dates with me
8. Brings me flower for no reason
9. Slow dances with me whenever & wherever it may be
10. Tells me I mean the world to him
11. Someone I can learn to love with
12. Someone I can share experiences with
13. Tells me things about him that he would never tell anyone else
14. Somoeone who makes me feel good about myself
15. Someone I can sleep with, as in just sleep
16. Be the first one I tell my joys & sorrows to
17. Gives me a reason to wake up in the morning
18. Tells me he loves me and truthfully means it
19. Squeezes my hand a little tighter when we hear our song play
20. Tells me he misses me when I’m not around
21. Pay attention to me when I’m speaking & remembers what I said
22. Lends me his jacket when I’m cold

After reading this, all I have to say is…

No.

My Dream Guy (circa 2011-34 years old)

1. Smart
2. Creative
3. Ambitious
4. Has a big heart
5. Doesn’t need to talk to me everyday
6. Inspiring
7. Drama-free
8. Doesn’t expect me to cook dinner every night
9. Has good hygiene (clean teeth,doesn’t smoke,showers daily, etc.)
10. Loves trying new restaurants with me
11. Supportive

That’s all. Wow, slashed the list in half. Doesn’t take much to make me happy anymore. If I were to pick one from my 1997 list, it would have to be #11-some I can learn to love with. I think relationships are a growing process, never something set in stone. When I wrote that 1997 list, I must have been in lalaland. Back then, love was all a dream, somewhat of a treasure to behold. After going through years without it and seeing relationships around me fall apart, can’t say I’m all that enthralled by it anymore. I don’t even care if I ever fall in love again. If anyone can change my mind, well then I’ll be damned.

Celebrities who seem like the type of guy I would want to go out with (granted they were single & around my age):

1. Will Friedle
2. Paulo Costanzo
3. Topher Grace
4. Michael Cera
5. Dave Foley
6. Jason Bateman
7. Andrew McCarthy

Cute, but not for me:
1. Jensen Ackles
2. Jackson Rathbone
3. Bradley Cooper
4. Orlando Bloom
5. Keanu Reeves
6. Sam Worthington

Leave a Reply

