Happy New Year


Every year, the entire world always gets into writing their new year’s resolutions, including me, of course. We fall into believing that a new year means a new beginning or a brand new start. I’ve had the same resolution for the last 23 years, which in fact, is the same resolution for probably over 50% of the United States and that is to lose weight.

Well I’m not going to continue with my tradition anymore. Instead of making resolutions of empty promises of things I will do, I’m going to make promises to myself of things I will not do.

I will not…
1) lie to myself.
2) tolerate drama.
3) put myself down.
4) let fear get in the way of my goals.
5) waste time dwelling on coulda, shoulda, woulda.
6) restrain myself from being happy.
7) allow negativity to overcome my positivity.
8) let embarrassment stop my imagination from freeing me.
9) pretend it’s all good when it’s not.
10) be afraid to speak my mind.

That’s enough for the year. I’ll do my best to refer to this list whenever an applicable situation approaches me. I spent the weekend watching “Intervention” on A&E and realized that there are so many people out there who take life for granted. There are many individuals whose lives are seemingly perfect but no one’s life is perfect. I shouldn’t compare my life to anyone else’s life because there will always be someone who has it better or worse than me. My very basic bottom line goal is to just find my happiness and pass it on. There’s no point in being happy if you can’t share it.

Happy New Year, all.

2 Comments »

  1. Angel Said:

    Happy new year to you too! 🙂

    • Miss Ava Said:

      Thanks, you too!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

