Career Moves


Whenever anyone has asked me “What do you want to be when you grow up?” I have a million answers for them. I’ve veered towards so many different paths that I’m getting lost in my career GPS system. I have wanted to become a sketch comedy writer, a screen writer, an actress, a fashion designer, a preschool teacher, a real estate agent, a restaurant owner, a professional baker, a banker, a hotel manager, a journalist and this is just from what I remember. At this point, it’s time to make a decision.

I’ve recently come across a career that I have never been more excited about pursuing. I think I really want to become a casting director. I don’t know why I never thought of it before. I am comfortable around celebrities, I love watching people audition, I have been on both sides of the spectrum and I loved it a lot more when I wasn’t the auditionee. Currently, I’m helping a local filmmaker on their first feature film & I’m the assistant director & I’m in charge of all the extras for the shoot. My emails are overwhelming but I can handle it. I’m finding that a lot of people want to be extras but when it comes to communication, it’s pretty iffy. You just never know who will actually show up, especially when I tell them they have to come dressed in goth clothing. All of a sudden, that’s too much work and instead of letting me know they are no longer available, I guess I just have to assume they are out if they don’t reply. If any of you ever want to be a movie extra, it’s best to reply.

Anyway, on Sunday, I spent about 3 hours with the fight choreographer, working on the training for the actors. I just went for the workout & boy, was it hard. I don’t think I’ve ever worked out my body so much before. Today, I am sore in places I never even knew had muscles. I ended up kicking, punching, & crawling around the floor like a caterpillar. The workout was reminiscent of those once-popular Tae Bo tapes with Billy Blanks except the Tae Bo workout was a lot easier. Man, the things that actors have to go through to fulfill their roles as their characters require so much work. I have a much higher respect for actors who can grunt through it. I used to think they just walked around onscreen, saying someone else’ words. I never thought about the physical aspect of it all as I’ve only performed onstage & never had to do any type of fighting, jumping, or kicking. I hope this pain goes away soon. I can barely go up & down the stairs due to some stressed calves & weak knees. Let’s just hope my body recovers soon. In the meantime, I’m going to spend my days recovering from this hot mess of a workout.

Leave a Reply

