White Frog Premiere


Attended the opening night for San Francisco International Asian American Film Festival to see “White Frog” at the Castro Theatre. I usually don’t go to the opening night film because it’s expensive and I’ve never really had any compelling reason to go. But a friend told me to go because her friend & her friend’s mother, Ellie & Fabienne Wen, wrote the script together. Then another friend told me his friend, Quentin Lee, directed it. Then I found out Booboo Stewart was in it along with Joan Chen & B.D. Wong. These were pretty compelling reasons to go so I did. I brought my BFF with me and we had a great time.

“White Frog” tells the tale of a young teenager with Assberger Syndrome who loses his brother (also his best friend) to a car accident and finds a way to cope. The teenager is played by Booboo Stewart (from Twilight Saga) and his brother is played by Harry Shum Jr. (from Glee). Overall, I thought the film was pretty good. I think it’s really difficult for an actor to portray a mentally disabled character so I applaud Booboo for taking on such a challenge. Don’t think I could have done it myself. The only problem I had with the movie was that the lighting was a bit “hot” as they would say. It was so white that it washed out some of the faces of the actors. After the premiere, the director Quentin Lee, said that he didn’t know why there were technical difficulties, that the f-stop seemed to be off but normally, the lights are lower.

I’m not a movie critic. I’m just happy as long as I’m entertained which I was. Therefore, I’m not going to review the film. I’d just say that if you ever get a chance to see it, go for it. I really enjoyed myself, which was evident in both laughter & tears.

BD Wong

Joan Chen

David Henry Hwang with wife Kathryn Layng, Harry Shum Jr.

Booboo Stewart

White Frog Cast

Leave a Reply

