Detox Day 1


I promised myself I’d writen down everything I ate during this 21 day detox for documentary and disciplinary reasons so here goes.

Day 1: Monday

Breakfast
Crispy gluten free brown rice cereal (Erewhon)
Lowfat Goat milk (Meyenberg)

Snack
Banana

Lunch
Scrambled eggs
2 slices gluten free whole grain toast (Udi’s)

Dinner
Rotisserie (Costco)
Banana

I know, not very exciting but I don’t know too many diets that are. I fell asleep at 7 PM and woke up at 3 AM, went back to sleep and woke up again at 6:15 AM to get to work. However, this unusually long sleep was due to a film shoot that lasted until 3:30 AM on Sunday night and I wound up crawling into bed at 4:30 AM only to wake up at 6:00 AM Monday morning. I was a zombie at work…no. Worse, I was a zombie on sleep medication. Couldn’t function properly. I’m surprised I drove home ok. Must have been the excitement of going to Rainbow Grocery, a specialty grocery co-op that carries anything for any special diet you can think of. They have a section dedicated to gluten-free products. I love it. I was actually planning on having gluten-free pancakes for dinner but changed my mind. My exhaustion took over and cooking was not within my strength.

That’s actually rare for me to say. I usually LOOOOVE cooking. Over the years, I’ve grown to enjoy testing out new recipes and discovering which recipes are best for my favorites. For example, I searched high & low for a good Pad Thai recipe and after 10 years, I finally found one that sounded even remotely decent to fit my tastebuds. I tested it out and it was the best pad thai I had ever had in any restaurant! This was the first time I had ever made pad thai and it turned out fantastic. I love it when that happens. Too bad I won’t be able to have pad thai for awhile. 3 weeks is not that long, but it’s perpetual hell when you’re dieting. However, the theme fits because all I want to do is burn. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

