Detox Day 9


I got sick yesterday, just a runny nose. The last time I got sick while dieting, I was competing with my best friend to see who can lose the most weight by a certain date, percentage wise. When she found out I was sick, she said, “No fair! You lose more weight when you’re sick!” Actually, I find that to be true most of the time so maybe it has some validity. I bet it’s just water weight though. I’m not sure what that means really. Your body is supposedly made up of 70% water so isn’t losing water weight a good thing? Weight is weight, right?

I don’t mind if I lost a bunch of water weight. I’m sure any weight lost is good at this point. I ended up having a super late dinner last night with friends at a thai restaurant but I didn’t eat much. I tend to gain weight whenever I eat late & go to sleep right after. I anticipated some sort of gain this morning but I was pleasantly surprised to find that I actually lost a pound!

I spent most of the day sleeping off my sickness and watching Dr. Oz. A lady named Kathy Freston was on it, talking about her new book, The Lean. She’s vegan & showed us a new philly cheesesteak recipe using seitan instead. I’m game to try it. I love seitan. The first time I tried it was from a vegetarian friend of mine who is a chef that makes filipino vegan food. He has his own catering company called No Worries. Ever since then, I was hooked. Unfortunately, seitan is not gluten free so I cannot consume it right now unless I can make my own seitan. Oooh, that’s a bit too ambitious for me right now. I’d rather just buy it somewhere. Anyway, the point is, I think I might give The Lean a try after the 21 day detox is over. If Dr. Oz is down for it, I should be too, yes?

Breakfast
Crispy Gluten-free brown rice cereal (Erewhon)
Almond milk (Trader Joe’s)

Snack
Banana

Lunch
Scrambled eggs with fuzzy melon
Brown rice
Yao choy

Dinner
Pad woon sen (King of Thai 2)

Weight lost as of 4/2/12: 5.6 lbs.

Leave a Reply

