Inspirecreational Weekend


This weekend has been full of inspiration, recreation, and creativity all rolled into one. I am losing sleep each night and my schedule is going insane. Obviously, filming is going well. We shot a bloody killing scene on Saturday where we ended up spraying fake blood all over someone’s van. That was a serious cleanup job. It’s made of corn syrup so imagine syrup all over your vehicle’s interior. Imagine that? Yeah. Afterwards, I got to see my friend dance in a show called “Tagabanua” at the Oakland Asian Cultural Center. It was a beautiful show with great moves and some kick ass indeigenous Filipino music. Very inspiring, I have to say. It made me want to play kulintang again.

And Sunday, we shot a music video for the band, Seeking Empire. It was on their song “Fairytale.” I haven’t shot a music video since 2007 when I helped with Kiwi’s “Imagine” video so it was fun. This time, it was a lot different though because of all the extras that were there. I’ve never really been around so many model-type women and punk rocker dudes. The band was fantastic and the venue we shot the video at was fabulous too! I got to meet Paul Thomas, the bassist from the band Good Charlotte, so that was cool. I can’t wait to see the video when it is done being edited.

On Monday, I got to play a different side of me. I dressed up in goth to celebrate a friend’s birthday at a goth club called Death Guild. I’ve never seen myself look this way before. It was nice to hear that everybody loved my outfit. I have to admit, I loved it too. I wore a short black dress that had tulle for the skirt part. I wore a wide belt that had a corset pattern on it. I also had a lacy bolero on along with a black headband that had a black flower on top. I painted my nails blood red, wore dark cherry lipstick, fishnet thigh-his and as my guy friends would call it, a pair of “come fuck me” heels. I looked like a Goth Lolita. Overall, I had a blast playing dress up. It cost me a fortune though. I think I spent over $200 on everything but I accomplished what I wanted to accomplish so all is right in the world. I would upload a photo except it’s in someone else’s camera and I don’t have it yet.

Reflection: I never thought I would see the things I see in my life. I know I’ve said this before but it’s truly amazing what one can accomplish if you maintain your focus, passion and dedication. I think my only problem is thank there are too many things I want to do. Sticking to one thing doesn’t seem to be my shtick, given my history. I’m a jack of all trades and things can only get better from here. Thank you, Lord! I am feeling truly blessed to be.

Leave a Reply

