Keeping Busy


So many events and projects have caused me to neglect my blog! But I found some time today to dedicate to documenting some of the things that have been happening. Last week, we finished our run of A Pinoy Midsummer at Bindlestiff Studio and it was a completely sold out run! We even had to add 2 more shows due to high demand! I guess I can cross “Be in a sold out show” off my bucket list. I was really excited to be a part of this show because I love working with it’s director, Lorna Velasco. She was the director I started Bindlestiff with so it’s nice to be able to reconnect. I was initially supposed to play Snug the Joiner but I opted to play kulintang instead. I just really missed playing the instrument and it gave me a chance to relearn some of the songs I had lost.

Another project I had done was that we finally got to shoot our intro for Granny Cart Gangstas! This is an all-female comedy troupe I’m trying to start through YouTube. We attempted to film our intro video last year in December but we got shut down by security. Apparently, you can’t take pictures or film in a private park, even though there are no signs stating it was a private park. We recasted the parts and my friend directed the short piece and watching the raw clips had me crackin up. I can’t wait to see them edited and completed.

I also started an internship with a movie called “Saltwater,” written by Lise Swenson. I’m really enjoying it because I’m a part of the casting team and I was excited when I was assigned to do a dossier on Rider Strong. Of course it was also me who suggested him but I truly envisioned him for the character in the movie. I don’t have any expectations on whether the director will agree but at least I threw it out there. It would have been nice to see him audition for the part.

Alas, my time is up and I have to move onto other activities for now. I have an afternoon to nighttime meeting today so I need to buy some Hennessy. Ciao!

Leave a Reply

