Girl Meets World?


Disney Channel Eyes Boy Meets World Sequel Series

I’m not sure how I feel about this, Disney, but let me just say this. When Boy Meets World came out back in 1993, it was a different time. Shows were more family-oriented and wholesome. We were in a whirlwind of campy family shows like Home Improvement, Full House, Step By Step, Roseanne, Just the Ten of Us, Growing Pains, I can go on. Today, most of popular television consists of reality TV shows that romanticize partying in skimpy clothing, teen pregnancy, the zombie apocalypse, and body obsession. While these types of dramatic issues are not what I would want my child to deal with, I understand that there is a need for a show with a character they can relate to and look up to.

We learned life lessons through Cory Matthews, his family and friends. His world was built by making mistakes, building memories, and having regrets. I was a bit older so my experiences related more towards Eric Matthews, a character I most looked forward to seeing every Friday night on TGIF. (Oh Will, wherefore art thou, my love?) All I ask is that we not have Girl Meets World result in a complete mimic of Boy Meets World because it just wouldn’t work. Audiences are a different generation today.

If this new show fails, somehow I fear that it will taint the legacy that Boy Meets World has left behind which has a fond impression on me. On the up side, I have to admit, a part of me was excited that the world had not forgotten dear little Cory Matthews. It’s been 12 years since Boy Meets World went off the air. While some shows are easily forgotten as a memory tucked so deep in the depths of our minds that they are never mentioned again (Hey Dude, Too Close for Comfort, Benson, etc), Boy Meets World has developed a cult following, a new audience, and has been revived with a 2nd life by today’s generation through its syndication on ABC Family. Not to mention, there is a tight-knit BMW GIF community that revolves around Boy Meets World. Were you aware of that?

One good thing I’ve come to discover is that the project will be done by Michael Jacobs, the original creator of Boy Meets World. Let us all breathe a sigh of relief. To Michael, all I have to say “Please allow your voice to be heard and don’t let Disney corporates bully you into making their version of your vision.” As torn as I am about this new project, I would still watch it today, even as an adult. And of course, I’d be hoping to catch that glimpse of uncle Eric popping in every now and then, doing a Feeny call at the most random moment.

In the meantime, let’s enjoy this fun video of Ben the Savagest…

4:53 – 5:00 is awesome sauce.

Watsky’s Making an Album Episode 9 with Special Guest Star

Leave a Reply

