My Next Producer Role Project


Woohoo! I finally got to launch my Indiegogo campaign for the full-length play I’m co-producing, “There’s The Moon And Then There’s You.” It also ended up trending on Indiegogo’s Theater tab! I hope that’s a good thing.

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 5.55.17 PM

The play is written by a friend of mine, Christina Ying, and it is absolutely beautiful. It is the story of a Vietnamese man, David Nguyen, who dreams of going to the moon while living the harsh reality that is his life. His wife is the 24-hr caretaker of her disabled brother, Caleb, and their married life is no longer the honeymoon it once was. David gets the chance of a lifetime to fulfill his dream of going to the moon but when his wife stands in the way of his dream, David resorts to drastic measures to find his happiness.

When I first read the play, I honestly fell in love. It was a real page turner! And that speaks volumes as I am not an avid reader unless they are diet books, cookbooks or notebooks. I’m really excited to for audiences to watch this play. It is a story worth telling. The characters are not your average, run-of-the-mill personas. They are people of color, they are relatable, and they play a poignant part of Asian-American storytelling.

Also, our director, Lorna Velasco, is dubbed the “Mother of Bindlestiff.” Bindlestiff Studio is a little blackbox theater that is like the Asian-American Northern Californian version of The Groundlings Theater in SoCal. Bindlestiff has given a creative voice to so many people in my community and I’m so proud to be a part of it. I don’t think I would be the person I am today if I didn’t have the Bindlestiff community in my life.

I would love for everyone to be supportive of this project. The story needs to be told and with enough help, we can make the run of this play an absolute success. I know we’re not Broadway but just because something is on Broadway doesn’t mean everyone will love it. With this play, I feel pretty confident that everyone will love it.

It will be mounted 5/30/15 – 6/13/15 at Bindlestiff Studio, 185 6th St @ Howard St., San Francisco.

I can’t wait. Check out our promo video!

Leave a Reply

