I Love Music Hard


Did you ever watch the movie, Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist starring Michael Cera and Kat Dennings? I love that movie. It’s my favorite movie of all time, for some reason. I think it had something to do with my love for independent music and how the whole film is centered around the world of independent music. Consequently, this movie is how I fell in love with my favorite band, Finish Ticket. I’ve even gone as far as New York to see them perform as a 20-minute opening act! That’s how much I love their music. What’s also wonderful is that these guys are as humble and down-to-earth as you can get and that is especially important in order to keep a loyal fan base. There are a ton of celebrities that can learn from that.

Anyway, the reason I mentioned that movie is because I feel like I’ve come full circle for the 2nd time (I’ll explain later) because my favorite band played a secret show just like Where’s Fluffy in the movie! I mean, of course it wasn’t quite as elaborate(or arrogant) as Where’s Fluffy but still, it was a secret show meaning they had performed under a different band name and you would have only heard about the show if you were on their mailing list or had bought tickets for their Ugly Sweater Social last year. By the way, what was really funny was that they asked me if I was over 21 and I said yes but they didn’t believe me so they drew Xs on my hands!11050706_10153276110285056_5364935601200905196_n 
This meant that I wasn’t allowed to buy any alcohol. I was shocked considering I’m 38. Must be all that coconut oil I’ve been eating. Incidentally, what an amazing show it was! I also love going to their shows because I always end up discovering some really awesome bands I had never known before if it wasn’t for them, which is the same exact way I discovered them, when they opened for Jackson Rathbone’s now-defunct band, 100 Monkeys back in 2011.

One of the bands I ended up loving immediately was Frankie. They opened for Finish Ticket and I loved them 10 seconds into their first song. So good. Here is one of their songs, New Obsession.

That was amazing, right? I dunno. I love quirky music. Matches my personality I guess.

So, I mentioned that this was the 2nd time things came full circle for me. The first time was when I went to dinner with two of my BFFs. They chose the restaurant. When we came out, I noticed a venue next door called The New Parish and I said, “Oh hey! The New Parish! That’s the venue that Finish Ticket performed at but I couldn’t make it.” I walked up to the window and peeked inside to see what it looked like and as I stepped back, I noticed a show poster for another venue and one of the bands performing was Army Navy! Army Navy is the name of the band of my favorite song on the Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist soundtrack, “Silvery Sleds” and I fell in love with Finish Ticket’s music because they reminded me of Army Navy! And incidentally, the venue that the secret show was at was at the same exact venue Army Navy performed at! Oh man, this is blowing my mind. I love it when serendipitous things like this happens. Here is that song. Check it out.

I realize they don’t sound like Finish Ticket vocal-wise but their catchy music is what caught my attention. Here are a couple of other bands that have opened for them that I absolutely love.

Night Riots “Remedy”

Picture Atlantic

Squirtle Pond

Okay, so the last one was a bit tricky. :0D Damn. I love music hard. Hella hard.

Leave a Reply

