There’s The Moon and Then There’s The Kids in the Hall


I can’t believe it’s already the last week of our show! It has been such a pleasure to produce this play, There’s The Moon And Then There’s You. All the feedback we’ve received has been so positive and humbling. I’m so happy that this was the first full-length play I decided to help produce. As much as I wish I could be there on closing night and take part in the traditional parody during the after party, alas I will be on a plane going overseas for vacation with two of my best friends. We’re hitting up London, Paris & Prague. I wish I could say I’m excited but it hasn’t really hit me yet. I was actually more excited to see the Kids In The Hall show when they were in town last month than going to Europe.

Yes, I am KITHophile. The Kids in the Hall have been influencing me since 1994, when I was 17 years old. Because of them, I got inspired to write “non-rhyming poems” which I now know are called “monologues.” They helped to breed my odd sense of humor into the vast, undefined genre that it exists as today. I remember writing about why the Number 1 was my favorite muni bus line or the neglected sidewalks that no one cared about. Yes, strange topics but when I did write something that rhymed, they were always about love, some sick, overly dramatic and disgustingly corny kind of love. Those “poems” were the type that floated around middle/high school with unknown authors and the word “love” always rhyming with “dreaming of” or “heaven above” or the far-stretched “can’t get enough.” Yes…they were terrible but I owned them and I am sure somewhere in the world, one of my poems is being distributed around from one person to another, ending with “Author Unknown” at the bottom. I know this because one of my friends submitted it as his own for his homework assignment and I recognized my own silly verses. He had changed the title but nevertheless, it was mine and I deplored him for stealing my words and claiming them as his own. Even when I confronted him and produced the original hand-written version, he swears up and down that he wrote that poem and I was lying. Sigh…high school. I do not miss a single minute. Although every time I think about the Kids in the Hall, they bring me back to those days, existing as one of the few fond memories I have of high school. So I chose to dress like my high school days when I took a group photo with them! :0D

11329892_10153322584495056_3551802868163207940_n
11391202_10153322584545056_2569508243149939372_n

That was definitely my creative self’s dream come true. How many times does a person get to meet their idols? For me, apparently a lot and I love it! I don’t know how it is that I have managed to meet all my obscure celebrity crushes and idols but I’m so thankful that it happened.

Anyway, it’s almost 4 in the morning and I need to finish packing. Trying to eat all my perishables but it’s not working very well because I have since been eating out too much and am accumulating food that will probably die while I’m gone. I have so much more to write about but my eyes are fighting me for rest. Perhaps I will write something while I’m on the other side of the world. Good night. Or good morning!

Sidenote: I had a dream last week that Will Friedle tweeted a hint that he got engaged or married. It was a photo of two rings and it said something like “Finally decided to take the leap!” I thought I would be saddened if that happened but actually, I wasn’t. I was okay, which made me happy. I’m happy if he’s happy. :0)

Leave a Reply

