Still Got It, Never Lost It


No, not talking about my cell phone. That’s still in Paris, France. GAH!! Can we talk about Girl Meets Mr. Squirrels Goes To Washington right now??!! I admit, I didn’t get the chance to watch it live but scrolling through all the laughers and the cryers on social media, I felt like I kind of spoiled it for myself. I knew I wasn’t going to react to it the same way I would have if I didn’t read about other people’s reactions. So I woke up this morning and watched it and oh my god, puddles. It got me feeling like I was watching Boy Meets World again, a show that had COMPLETELY disregarded its label as a “sitcom” and decided to become a “sitdram” and make people cry and feel things and be open to new ideas. I would LOVE to live in a world where Eric Matthews made decisions for the future of the children. He has his heart in the right place. I love that line that Tommy(played by the original JB Gaynor) said: “Eric Matthews sacrificed himself for the future of a child. You sacrificed the future of children for yourself, Senator.” That one sentence spoke volumes of what the message was for me.

At one point or another, the line between kid and adult is so thin and I agree, a number should not determine whether or not you can make decisions for the future. Why can’t they have polls where teens can vote too? At least on issues that affect them? Some of my friends’ kids are teenagers and they are some of the most intelligent, compassionate and open-minded people I’ve ever met. I can envision them making decisions that are wiser than an “adult.”

I also really enjoyed the tag back to the “Hair Today, Goon Tomorrow” episode when Eric wore that green bathrobe and had that split chocolate milk. Ahhhh, nothing’s changed in his world. And for those who have never seen the original version, here you go.

Sigh…Will. After all these years, you never lost the capability to affect me. Yeah, you’re really good-looking and lookin good and good at making people laugh whether it’s intentionally or unintentionally. In addition, I remember really being able to see your range when you did that episode where you couldn’t adopt Tommy and I was floored. I can still remember that moment when you wrenched my heart and made me cry. This expression right here captured so much and gave me so many feelings I couldn’t even contain.
willfriedle
And then 16 years later, Girl Meets Mr. Squirrels Goes To Washington comes along and they hit me in the face with this hug.
Screen Shot 2015-07-11 at 9.33.13 AM

Oh god, I hope there is a season 3. I really feel like they were planting seeds with this episode. Did you see that scene where all the phones went up? Brilliant. That is exactly what happens in today’s society. I saw a lot of people saying they want Will to be a regular cast member. As amazing as that would be, I don’t think it’s going to happen. I know there are a lot of people who thought Will has been literally sitting on his ass doing nothing since Boy Meets World ended in 2000 but he is actually quite the favorite in the voice acting world. At the time when he did that episode with Tommy back in 1999, I do believe he had already dipped his foot into voice acting as Terry McGinnis in Batman Beyond. He even revealed himself as such in “The Truth About Honesty” and if you watched Batman Beyond, you would have gotten the entire irony of the joke.


I just love it when they do that.

If anyone is interested in hearing Will voice act, you can watch Transformers: Robots In Disguise as Bumblebee (yes, he talks now!) on Cartoon Network right now.

In September, You will be able to catch him in the animated series of Guardians Of The Galaxy as Peter Quill aka Star-Lord on Disney XD.

And if anyone went to San Diego Comic Con 2015, hopefully you got to meet this wonderful man there. I would love to see your pictures!

Here are a couple of interviews he did at San Diego Comic Con 2015. Enjoy!
Marvel

Comics Online

Oh and if you’re looking for the events he’s talking about, I believe it was Wizard Con and RICC, although I could be wrong.

Leave a Reply

