Gimme Five Minutes


So today is the last day to vote in my city. I planned on mailing my ballot so I put everything into my envelope and sealed it. This morning, I saw it and think, “Don’t forget to bring this with you to work so you can put it in the mailroom!” But of course I forgot it. Then I decide, I’ll just come home, grab it, and take it to the post office. Oh! The one by the airport closes late at 8! Yay! But, work gets crazy at around 3:30 PM. Next thing I knew, it was 6:52 PM! I thought, “OMG! I have to vote! I gotta go!”

So I leave work and as I’m driving home on the streets, I realize I can’t get on the freeway with this spare tire because it can’t go past 50 mph! (I got a flat tire yesterday. :0/ ) So I called my brother who is my landlord.
“I NEED TO BORROW YOUR CAR! OMG!”
“Okay, sure. Where you going?”
“I NEED TO GO TO THE POST OFFICE BY THE AIRPORT! IT’S THE LAST DAY TO VOTE AND I HAVE TO BE A PART OF THE CHANGE! EVERY VOTE COUNTS! WE NEED A NEW MAYOR! WE NEED TO PASS THESE PROPOSITIONS! IT’S REALLY IMPORTANT!! THAT’S THE ONLY POST OFFICE THAT CLOSES LATE! I CAN’T GET ON THE FREEWAY WITH THIS SPARE TIRE CUZ THEY SAID I CAN’T GO PAST 50 MPH!”
“Why don’t you just drop it off at the polling place at the end of our street?”
“Oh.”

That was a true 5 minutes.

Leave a Reply

