Archive for January 6, 2014

The Love Edition Film Shoot

So, I’m one of the producers for an upcoming show called “The Love Edition: Love Bytes.” It’s a show at Bindlestiff Studio that mounted its first run back in 2006 during February, produced by Chuck Lacson and Raf Lim, along with Associate Producers Nina De Torres Ignacio and John Raposas. And since it was in February, it became about love. First year, its theme was radio. The show was set up like a radio talk show where you could hear people call into a radio talk show and talk about their love problems. Then the stories onstage would play out from what you heard. The second time it mounted in 2007, the theme was TV and the show was set up like a talk show where a tv talk show host would discuss people’s love problems as if they were at a live recording of the show. Some audience members actually that it was a really show being recorded because there were monitors put up in the theater to make it feel like a live taping. Ultimately, the Love Edition went on hiatus because the producers were unable to commit to mounting another run and no one else attempted to take over.

It wasn’t until now that the original producers were able to commit to mounting a third installment of The Love Edition and this year, the theme is about love online, hence the title, “Love Bytes.” I have always wanted to be a part of the show in some way. I participated as an Assistant Director to one of the pieces in the 2nd Love Edition back in 2007 but I wasn’t sure how I would be able to participate this year. When they did the call out for written pieces, I wanted to submit but couldn’t find the time to write out a script by the deadline. I was sad about that so I thought maybe I could audition when the time came, but I never feel like I would fit the roles that are usually out there so I wasn’t too hopeful about that. 

One day, while at the theater, I was approached by one of the producers to become one of the Associate Producers for the next Love Edition. I can’t tell you how surprised I was to be asked to do something like that as I was not even really sure what a producer does. Apparently, projects I’ve done where I had to make something happen from beginning to end was considered “producing.” I was elated and excited to be a part of such a beloved show. Love has always been my area of weakness as I know NOTHING so I thought maybe I could learn a thing or two. 

Anyway, the point of my post. Just finished the film shoot portion of The Love Edition. It will be a web promo for the show and I have to say, this particular film shoot was by far, the funniest project I have ever had the pleasure of participating in. I’m so glad I was there to witness all the comedic moments of the shoot. There were people whom I asked if they could help out on the shoot and I actually feel sorry for them that they said no and weren’t there to enjoy these good times. GREAT times. I wish I could relive all those moments of laughter. It was too fun. This film shoot really made me think twice about what I want to do with my career. They said that when you find a job you love, you’ll never work a day in your life. It is very true. While the whole weekend involved a lot of hard work, I have to say I had the greatest time. It was a good way to start off 2014 and I can’t wait to see the final results after the editor gets a hold of the footage.

Here are a few screen captures. Find us at http://www.youtube.com/theloveedition

Enjoy!

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

UPDATE: Here are the final results! Watch on a laptop or desktop and turn on your annotations to get the full interactive experience!